Casey Stoner fastest on first day of MotoGP Sepang test

Casey Stoner fastest on first day of MotoGP Sepang test

Casey Stoner
Casey Stoner / Source: Ducati

Casey Stoner was fastest on the first day of MotoGP’s Sepang test.

The Ducati test driver’s time was 1:59.681min. The double MotoGP champion was 0.115sec faster than Andrea Dovizioso.

The session was cut short by 2 hours because of rain

“The first feeling wasn’t so bad. In this session we finally have the ‘real’ two bikes that we will use during the championship. And they are better than the first prototype that we tested in November, from many points of view”, Valentino Rossi (8th) said. “Unfortunately, it was a difficult day today. This morning I woke up with a very bad headache. Until 12 o’clock I wasn’t in good shape. After that we were able to do some laps and the feeling was good.”

“In the afternoon we had to finish the work but it started to rain. So we have to wait and hope that in the next two days we will have good track conditions. We will try some new things tomorrow. Today we worked on the engine and the electronics and found some good stuff.”

Jorge Lorenzo was surprised by his lack of pace at the Malaysian circuit: “I’m understanding that it’s a bike that requires a pretty different riding style than what I’m used to. There’s a long way to go, especially under braking. I’m used to braking a lot earlier and I’m losing a lot under braking. This bike is basically ridden the opposite way, so until I learn how to extract the best from the bike it will be hard to be among the quickest.”

Day 1 test times:
1. Casey Stoner (Ducati) 1:59.681
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) +0.115sec
3. Maverick Vinales (Yamaha) +0.447
4. Alvaro Bautista (Ducati) +0.453
5. Andrea Iannone (Suzuki) +0.809
6. Cal Crutchlow (Honda) +0.889
7. Jonas Folger (Yamaha) +0.962
8. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) +1.014
9. Marc Marquez (Honda) +1.056
10. Hector Barbera (Ducati) +1.063
11. Danilo Petrucci (Ducati) +1.169
12. Scott Redding (Ducati) +1.171
13. Dani Pedrosa (Honda) +1.289
14. Johann Zarco (Yamaha) +1.543
15. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) +1.590
16. Pol Espargaro (KTM) +1.657
17. Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati) +1.669
18. Loris Baz (Ducati) +1.670
19. Takuya Tsuda (Suzuki) +2.131
20. Alex Rins (Suzuki) +2.208
21. Karel Abraham (Ducati) +2.245
22. Jack Miller (Honda) +2.261
23. Kohta Nozane (Yamaha) +2.506
24. Katsuyuki Nakasuga (Yamaha) +2.609
25. Tito Rabat (Honda) +2.634
26. Sam Lowes (Aprilia) +3.261
27. Bradley Smith (KTM) +3.353