Guerrieri, Vervisch win big, Tarquini wins bigger in thrilling WTCR season showdown

Guerrieri, Vervisch win big, Tarquini wins bigger in thrilling WTCR season showdown


While Esteban Guerrieri and Frédéric Vervisch joined Jean-Karl Vernay as WTCR Race of Macau winners, it was Gabriele Tarquini who had the biggest cause for celebration by claiming the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO by a mere three points.

Piloting a Hyundai i30 N TCR for BRC Racing Team on Yokohama tyres, Tarquini won the first event of the year in Morocco and has been firmly in the title fight ever since.

Esteban Guerrieri, Yvan Muller, Gabriele Tarquini
photo: WTCR

Despite a troubled Second Qualifying in Macau leaving him outside of the top 10 for Sunday’s deciding races, Tarquini did just enough with a P10 finish in Race 3

That hand him the title spoils ahead of Yvan Muller, the TAG Heuer Most Valuable Driver of the event.

“I have the memory nine years I was thinking to stop racing because what do you want to achieve more than a world title?” said Tarquini. “It’s probably the best time to stop, but I was thinking ‘why should I stop, I want to race. I have the adrenaline, I am not very slow, I can compete again.’ And I decided because SEAT stopped, to start again with a private team in 2010, 2011, 2012 and then I was back in a Honda team. So I didn’t stop and this has been the greatest season. And I must also thank Hyundai for choosing me in the beginning, all the team, the mechanics and my team-mate. And I also want to congratulate Yvan, who made a great job through the season. He was my toughest opponent.”

Magnificent Muller guides self-run team to entrants’ award

Yvan Muller gave his all to snatch the crown from Gabriele Tarquini’s grasp. But his podium brace wasn’t quite enough to claim the top prize although his self-run, Hyundai-powered YMR squad, which was formed on the eve of the season, beat BRC to the Teams’ title thanks to his and Thed Björk’s collective efforts. Muller celebrated his triumph by announcing plans to drive for the all-new Lynk & Co Cyan Racing line-up in WTCR OSCARO in 2019. “Like I said to my team, I would easily give one of my titles to be a team champion. I will be with Lynk & Co for next year.”

Huff can’t quite make it Macau win number 10

Rob Huff claimed a double DHL Pole Position in his Sébastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen Golf GTI but had to settle for third and second – plus the TAG Heuer Best Lap Trophy for his efforts.

crash, Macau, WTCR
photo: WTCR

Guerrieri adds to Nürburging victory with first Macau win

Esteban Guerrieri soaked up immense pressure from DHL Pole Position starter Rob Huff to win Race 3, his second triumph of the season following his success at the Nürburgring Nordschleife earlier in the year. The Honda-powered ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport driver headed Huff and Norbert Michelisz with Muller fourth, Yann Ehrlacher fifth and Cupra-mounted Pepe Oriola completing the top six for Team OSCARO by Campos Racing.

Vervisch makes it winner number 15 of 2018

Frédéric Vervisch became winner number 15 of the inaugural WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO, pulling off a great pass to demote DHL Pole Position starter Timo Scheider to claim the Race 2 victory, taking the lead around the outside at Mandarin. Scheider took second with Yvan Muller third and Kevin Ceccon fourth in his Team Mulsanne Alfa Romeo Giulietta. Esteban Guerrieri and Yann Ehrlacher completed the top six respectively.