Di Grassi takes the title in Formula E

Di Grassi takes the title in Formula E

Jean-Éric Vergne grabbed his maiden series win


Lucas di Grassi secured the 2016/17 Formula E title with a seventh-place finish in Sunday’s season finale in Montréal, as Jean-Éric Vergne grabbed his maiden series win. Audi ABT’s di Grassi entered the race 18 points clear of

Renault e.dams rival Sébastien Buemi and, with the reigning champion not scoring, took over the Drivers’ crown.

Di Grassi started from fifth on the grid, losing a spot on the first lap and several places in the car swaps, but recovered over the second half of the race. He slowed to let team-mate Daniel Abt through for sixth just before the finish, the pair finishing on the tail of Mahindra’s Nick Heidfeld.

After crossing the line and confirming his title win, di Grassi shouted over the radio: “Great job, great job team! We are the champions! We are the champions!” Techeetah driver Vergne’s push for victory started with a move on DS Virgin’s Sam Bird as the lights went out, before extending his opening stint.

Vergne, with more useable energy, quickly closed on leader Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra), making a move stick on lap 29/37 into Turn 3. Bird also lost out to team-mate José María López, as the top four came home significantly clear of the chasing pack, led by the aforementioned Heidfeld.

Buemi’s tough weekend continued as he started 13th and suffered rear damage at the first corner

, when he was tagged by Andretti’s António Félix da Costa. With a rear tyre cover flapping on his car, he was given the black and orange flag; after pitting and dropping to last, he fought back through for 11th, but could not prevent di Grassi.

Vergne’s team-mate, Stéphane Sarrazin, Dragon’s Jérôme d’Ambrosio and Venturi’s Tom Dillmann rounded out the points-paying positions.