Jaguar Classic celebrates Le Mans Legends on 60th anniversary of D-Type domination

Jaguar Classic celebrates Le Mans Legends on 60th anniversary of D-Type domination

Jaguar Classic

Jaguar Classic is celebrating its Le Mans-winning heritage this summer, as preparations get underway for this weekend’s 85th running of the French 24-hour endurance race – an event Jaguar sports cars have won on seven occasions over five decades.

The official opening of Jaguar Land Rover Classic Works began the tributes with a trio of racing icons on display: C-type, D-type and XJR-9. All three cars are part of the Jaguar Heritage Trust’s collection. The collection is at the British Motor Museum, Gaydon. The new facility is dedicated to offering a range of products and services for owners and enthusiasts of classic Jaguar and Land Rover vehicles.

Jaguar Land Rover Classic Director, Tim Hannig, said:

“The 24 Hours of Le Mans race holds a special place in the hearts of all Jaguar fans. It’s a test of endurance that Jaguar is proud to have won seven times. It’s only right that we celebrate those successes at the opening of Jaguar Land Rover Classic Works, 60 years since the outstanding performances of the D-types in 1957.”

64 years ago, on 14 June 1953, Duncan Hamilton and Tony Rolt claimed the brand’s second Le Mans victory in a works C-type. It was the first victory at La Sarthe for a disc-braked car – aircraft technology that Jaguar pioneered on road cars.

23 June marks 60 years since Jaguar D-type drivers filled all steps of the podium at the Le Mans in 1957, as well as fourth and sixth places on the finishers list. No manufacturer had so comprehensively dominated the results before.

Scotland’s Ecurie Ecosse team, with two former works Jaguar Le Mans winners in its driving line-up, took the top two positions in 1957, followed by French team Equipe Los Amigos in third and Equipe Nationale Belge in fourth. Duncan Hamilton entered his D-type as a privateer, co-driven by American Masten Gregory, to take sixth place.

In 1988 the Group C XJR-9 returned the brand to the top step of the Le Mans podium. Behind the wheel of the winning car were Andy Wallace, Johnny Dumfries and Jan Lammers. This car is now in the care of the Jaguar Heritage Trust.

Andy Wallace has now joined Jaguar Land Rover Classic as Chief Test Driver for its vehicle programmes. Wallace will road test all Legends Reborn and Legends Continued cars. After that, they will be a part of a presentation for clients.

Later this summer, five D-types including a number of the 1957 Le Mans cars and the 1956 example displayed at Classic Works, will come together for a convoy starting at the new home. The tour will include stops at Silverstone and at the home facility of the Panasonic Jaguar Racing Formula E team. It will also be on special display at the Concours of Elegance at Hampton Court Palace (1-3 September).

The seven Le Mans successes of Jaguar

1951: C-type 3.4 (drum brakes), Peter Walker/Peter Whitehead

1953: C-type 3.4 (disc brakes), Duncan Hamilton/Tony Rolt

1955: D-type 3.4 short-nose, Mike Hawthorn/Ivor Bueb

1956: D-type 3.4 short-nose, Ron Flockhart/Ninian Sanderson

1957: D-type 3.8 long-nose, Ron Flockhart/Ivor Bueb

1988: XJR-9 Group C, Jan Lammers/Johnny Dumfries/Andy Wallace

1990: XJR-12 Group C, John Nielsen/Price Cobb/Martin Brundle