Ott Tanak wins Rallye Deutschland

Ott Tanak wins Rallye Deutschland

The 29-year-old Estonian headed Andreas Mikkelsen in Citroën C3 by 16.4sec


Ott Tanak in Ford Fiesta took his 2nd WRC victory. The Estonian wins ADAC Rallye Deutschland. The 29-year-old driver headed Andreas Mikkelsen in Citroën C3 by 16.4sec. He lead the four-day asphalt event since Friday.

Mikkelsen fended off Sebastien Ogier, who finished a further 14.0 sec behind in his Fiesta. The Frenchman moved back to the top of the World Rally Championship with 17 points advantage over Thierry Neuville. The Belgian didn’t score any points.

Tanak had entered the two final Sunday stages 18 seconds clear of Mikkelsen and duly brought his Ford Fiesta WRC home to claim the win. Making his third appearance for the Citroen works team, Mikkelsen secured the French manufacturer’s first podium finish since Mexico.

Mikkelsen ended up 14 seconds ahead of third-placed Ogier. The champion was the only driver on the podium to pick up bonus points in the Power Stage – where he was fourth.

Having overhauled Elfyn Evans earlier on Sunday, Juho Hanninen finished as the lead Toyota in fourth, while the Welshman himself was then also shuffled down to sixth by Citroen’s Craig Breen.

Breen had closed to within two seconds of Evans by topping the penultimate stage and did enough in the Power Stage to clinch his sixth fifth-place finish of the campaign.

Jari-Matti Latvala was seventh for Toyota, ahead of the top Hyundai of Hayden Paddon and M-Sport’s local guest driver Armin Kremer.

Dani Sordo won the final live TV Power Stage to claim five bonus points in a Hyundai i20. Esapekka Lappi took four points for second in a Toyota Yaris, with team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala claiming 3 in third place.