Santiago, Sao Paulo and Rome new additions for 2017/18 Formula E season

Santiago, Sao Paulo and Rome new additions for 2017/18 Formula E season

Formula E

The FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) revealed the 2017/18 FIA Formula E Championship calendar following its meeting in Geneva.

The calendar features a more compact schedule, including three doubleheaders and three new venues – Santiago, Sao Paulo and Rome. The fourth edition of the world’s first fully-electric single seater racing series comprises the most races to appear on the calendar since its inception in 2014.

The Formula E cars will take to the track in the season-opener in Hong Kong for the second year running on December 2 & 3 – the first doubleheader to take place in Asia.

Formula E will stop at new locations in both South America and Europe. There will be races in the Chilean capital of Santiago in February. The first race in Brazil will be on the streets of Sao Paulo in March. Formula E will visit Rome in mid-April.

The electric street racing series will also be returning to the French capital. The third edition of the Paris ePrix will be on April 28.

The penultimate event sees Formula E return to New York against the backdrop of Lower Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty, with the season coming to a close once again over the course of two days in Montreal on July 28 & 29.

Alejandro Agag, Founder & CEO of Formula E, said:

“It’s exciting news to welcome a number of new host cities on the Formula E calendar, as well as seeing existing locations build on the success of previous events. Formula E is continuing to expand the calendar and the number of cities in key markets, in addition to the growing list of partners and manufacturers joining the electric revolution. Our priority is to consolidate a calendar with long-term agreements with host cities. The schedule for season four is a step in the right direction.”

2017/18 FIA Formula E Championship Calendar

Round City Country Date
1 Hong Kong China December 2, 2017
2 Hong Kong China December 3, 2017
3 Marrakesh Morocco January 13, 2018
4 Santiago Chile February 3, 2018
5 Mexico City Mexico March 3, 2018
6 Sao Paulo* Brazil March 17, 2018
7 Rome Italy April 14, 2018
8 Paris France April 28, 2018
9 TBA** Germany May 19, 2018
10 TBA** TBA** June 9, 2018
11 New York City USA July 7, 2018***
12 New York City USA July 8, 2018***
13 Montreal Canada July 28, 2018
14 Montreal Canada July 29, 2018

* Subject to confirmation

** Subject to venue announcement

*** Subject to date confirmation