Seven former winners headline 101st Indianapolis 500 entry list

Seven former winners headline 101st Indianapolis 500 entry list

Indy 500, Fernando Alonso, Indianapolis 500

Seven previous Indy 500 winners are among the entries for the 101st running of the legendary race. The event will take place on May 28.

33 drivers are in the entry list, which includes 18 Hondas and 15 Chevrolets.

The former winners include reigning champion Alexander Rossi. The American scored an underdog victory as a rookie last year. Buddy Lazier was first in 1996), while Juan Pablo Montoya has two victories – in 2000 and 2015. Helio Castroneves is with three (2001, 2002 and 2009). Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan and Ryan Hunter-Reay all won the Indy 500 once – in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

Castroneves will try to join one of the most exclusive clubs in motorsports – four-time winners of Indianapolis 500. Right now it has only three members. The first one is A.J. Foyt – winner in 1961, 1964, 1967, 1977. Al Unser was first at the oval in 1970, 1971, 1978, 1987. Rick Mears won in 1979, 1984, 1988, 1991.

Seven previous Indy 500 winners are among the entries for the 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500

19 of the drivers won at least one IndyCar Series race. Will Power is one of them. He is the most recent IndyCar Series race winner after his win in the INDYCAR Grand Prix at IMS.

8 of the drivers won Indy car season championships. Dixon and Sebastien Bourdais  have four titles each. The first one triumphed in 2003, 2008, 2013 and 2015, while the second reigned from 2004 to 2007. Montoya was CART champion in 1999. Lazier (2000), Kanaan (2004), Hunter-Reay (2012), Power (2014) and Pagenaud (2016) have IndyCar titles.

There are four rookies, including two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso. The others are Mazda Road to Indy graduates Jack Harvey, Ed Jones and Zach Veach. The Indianapolis 500 Rookie Orientation Program starts today, followed by open practice.

The 101st Indianapolis 500 Entry List

Fernando Alonso left the Catalunya circuit right after the Spanish Grand prix. He finished 12th in his home race

“The race didn’t go as we’d planned”, Alonso commented. “We were a little bit unlucky with the contact in Turn Two with Felipe [Massa] and then we were behind Daniil [Kvyat] for too many laps in the mid part of the race. But even without that I think we didn’t have the race pace to be in the points to be honest.”

“I’m a little disappointed, but at least we finished the race. And hopefully this is the first sign of a step forward in reliability.”

The Indianapolis 500 is held annually at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana

The event is onMemorial Day (originally Decoration Day) weekend, which is typically the last weekend in May. It is contested as part of the Verizon IndyCar Series, the top level of American Championship Car racing. This open-wheel formula is known as “Indy Car Racing”. The name of the race is often shortened to Indy 500.

Ray Harroun won the inaugural running in 1911. The race celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2011. The 100th running was held in 2016. Alexander Rossi is the defending champion. The most successful drivers are A. J. Foyt, Al Unser, and Rick Mears, each of whom have won the race four times. The active driver with the most victories is Hélio Castroneves, with three. Rick Mears holds the record for most career pole positions with six. The most successful car owner is Roger Penske, owner of Team Penske, which has 16 total wins and 17 poles.